Faringdon Tennis Club A.G.M.

Friday 25th September, 2009 Old Town Hall

Present: 17 members:

Don Cain, Anne Sawyer, Pauline Waywell, Pia Sondergeld, Juliane Spiers, Susanna Hunt, Andy Sawyer, Mike and Helen Iremonger, Sjoerd Vogt, Caroline and Dave Weston, Mark Mobey, Steve Perry, Jill Elbourn, Pat Perkins, Alan Elbourn.

Apologies:

Pam Walsh, Lin Ross, Gillian Lithgoe, Paul and Roma Silver, Dave Tutt, Maureen Hobart, Sue Thrower, Judy Scotcher, Tracey Collen.

The Minutes:

The minutes of the 2008 AGM had been circulated, taken as read and signed as a correct record.

Financial Statement:

In the absence of the Treasurer, the accounts were circulated.

- It was noted that this year we received 16 pairs of Wimbledon tickets compared to 6 pairs last year, hence the big increase from £608 to £1,640.
- Don explained that the healthy balance is needed as a sinking fund for resurfacing of the courts which is required every 5-10 years.

Record of accounts is attached.

Adoption of the Accounts: Proposed: Anne Sawyer Seconded: Dave Weston

Match Secretary Report: Steve Perry

The report is attached.

It was suggested that a Mens C Team was created, comprised predominantly of Juniors (eg. Thomas James and Phil Haynes).

Members raised the concern that with only 3 courts and 7 teams this would give very little leeway to rearrange any cancelled matches and it was suggested that some friendly fixtures be set up initially, rather than enter a league.

It was recommended that at the next fixtures meeting we endeavour to avoid having the A and B teams of the Mens and Ladies Teams playing the same day.

Coaching Report:

Susanna Hunt read out both Alan and Susanna's report as Alan was expected late to the meeting due to coaching commitments. Both reports are attached.

Mike Iremonger would like to see a drill based practice session for men established. Susanna and Alan to discuss.

Chairman's Report:

Don Cain read the Chairman's report which is attached.

Don explained that Alan Elbourn is happy to arrange the Wimbledon Draw next year.

Instead of signing up on a notice in the clubhouse, it was suggested that the form be emailed (only 3 of our members are not on email) so members can tick their preferences for dates. Members would need to have a BTM (British Tennis Membership) number to qualify and would need to attend the Draw on the night, or send a representative in order to be eligible for tickets.

Sjoerd explained that BTM is free until 2012 but that there is currently no renewal system.

Relocation Report: Anne Sawyer

This was read out by Anne and the report is attached

The relocation seems to be more positive and if it does go ahead it should take place late next year. If and when it does happen, Anne explained that a new team with new skills would need to volunteer to take the plan forward. The plan was originally for 6 courts, but due to the economic downturn we are now looking at 4 courts.

Anne explained that there would be continuous play during the transition from Southampton Street to Steeds Farm.

Subscriptions:

There will be no change to subscription costs for 2010.

Student Summer Only and Family Membership will also continue for 2010. It was agreed that new members joining the club part way through the year could pay pro rata, depending on the number of months remaining.

Proposed: Juliane Spiers Seconded: Mike Iremonger

There followed a lengthy discussion re. Visitor Fees.

A Temporary Visitor Membership for non-residents of £30 for 3 months (or £10 for 1 month) was agreed.

The policy for occasional visits by residents is to be discussed at the next committee meeting.

Proposed: Anne Sawyer Seconded: Pat Perkins

Committee Election

Paul Silver has stood down from the committee but will continue to be involved in the maintenance.

All other committee members are to remain.

Proposed: Andy Sawyer Seconded: Juliane Spiers

Juliane Spiers is to become a new committee member

Proposed: Sjoerd Vogt Seconded: Mike Iremonger

Appointment of Officers: Secretary: Susanna Hunt Proposed: Jill Elbourn Seconded: Juliane Spiers

Treasurer: Lin Ross Proposed: Andy Sawyer Seconded: Dave Weston

Chairman: Sjoerd Vogt Proposed: Jill Elbourn

Seconded: Helen Iremonger